Welcome to Dangar Island Historical Society.
Formed in 1980 by a group of residents, the Society aims to preserve and provide access to materials covering the history of Dangar Island from its earliest days through to today.
The Guringai people, also known as Eora, were custodians of the area around the Island for at least 30,000 years. The Island’s first recorded visit by Europeans was in 1788 by Captain (later Governor) Arthur Phillip when it was called Mullet Island due to the abundance of fish.
Henry Dangar purchased the Island in 1864, when it became known as Dangar’s Island. The Island served as the base for building the Hawkesbury River Railway Bridge completed in 1889. This Bridge played a key role in the movement of men and materials in the defence of Australia during World War 2.
Since then the Island has developed as a weekend destination and residential suburb with minimal vehicles and abundant peace amongst the trees.
The Society holds material covering the history of the Island, including oral history and photographs. Our work includes digitizing and archiving these materials, and proudly showing them to anyone who is interested in our unique story. We are currently working on the production of an updated historical guide to Dangar Island which will be available for purchase by residents and visitors.
Note: The Society no longer hosts walking tours of the island.
The Society was relaunched in 2013 and is registered under the Office of Fair Trading (Number INC1300153).
We are affiliated with the Royal Australian Historical Society.
For RAHS events please follow the link below:
(Background Photo: South East corner, Dangar Island, 1911. Source: Allen Family Photo album, Mitchell Library, State Library of NSW.)
(Header Photo: View from Hawkesbury River Bridge, 1940’s approx. Source: Unknown.)